Added to cart

[Product name]

Quantity: 1

Out of Stock Request Form

Unfortunately we do not have enough stock for your order.

Please contact us at [email protected].

Honorary memberships awarded, Council confirmed at AGM

Wednesday, December 14, 2022

Media Release

At the AGM on 1 December presentations were made for a new Honorary Vice President for Family Planning and six new Honorary Life Members. The honorees are people who have made a significant contribution across sexual and reproductive health and rights throughout their careers - both within Family Planning and more broadly across the sector.  

Our Honorary Vice Presidency was awarded to the Hon Ruth Dyson, who worked tirelessly on human rights issues during her long career in New Zealand politics. Most recently her work chairing the Abortion Select Committee was significant in helping abortion law reform become a reality.  

Of her acknowledgment as an Honorary Vice President, Ruth said "I am a strong supporter of the amazing work that Family Planning does, and I am humbled by this Honorary position."  

Honorary Life Memberships were awarded to: Dr Barbara Adkins, Mani Mitchell, Dr Carol Shand, Dr Tammy Steeves, Jan Gilby and Joy Brown-Douglas.  

During the AGM, we confirmed Elizabeth McLean as the new Deputy President of Family Planning Council. Elizabeth affiliates to Waikato, Tainui and Ngāti Pūkenga. She is currently undertaking doctoral research at Victoria University of Wellington, exploring the experiences and life narratives of rangatahi wāhine Māori within the youth justice space.  

Dr Jacky Percy was confirmed as Council President at the AGM. Other Council members confirmed in their roles were Jackie Curtis, Waimarama Matena, Manihera Te Hei, Ian Olan, Stephanie Townsend, and Dr Nina Bevin.   

Family Planning has clinics located throughout New Zealand. Use the clinic finder to find your nearest clinic.